2017 Rough Riders Schedule
10
Feb 2017

ROUGH RIDERS ANNOUNCE 2017 SEASON



Home opener on Saturday May 13, 2017 at 7:30 pm

PLAINVIEW, NY – (Friday, February 10, 2017) –The men’s team will open the 2017 campaign on May 13th at 7:30PM against the Westchester Flames in their initial home game of the PDL season at Cy Donnelly Stadium on the campus of St. Anthony’s High School in Huntington, NY. While the team is still in its formative part of pre-season, fans can expect the Rough Riders affiliation with NYCFC to have a significant impact on player signings this spring.

The club joined the Northeast division of the Eastern Conference for the 2016 season and made the transition with F.A. Euro and the Westchester Flames. The Rough Riders finished the 2016 regular season in third place, missing the post season by a measly 4 points. Junior Rosero lead the team with 8 goals and Daniel Gwyther was named 2016 LIRR player of the year.

“We have high expectations for this season.  We are bringing back a strong nucleus from last season while adding some quality newcomers in key positions.  With the support of NYCFC, we hope to may a run at the playoffs while playing attractive, entertaining soccer”

The PDL had an impressive showing this season with 31 PDL alums being signed to the MLS in the first two rounds of the Super Draft, and 72% of this singing class as a whole had PDL experience. Including two of our own; Joe Holland went to the Huston Dynamo in the first round, and Dakota Barnathan to FC Dallas in the third round. The Rough Riders hope to keep this stat high this season and help push players through to the MLS.

Final kick-off times and U.S. Open dates will be determined in the coming weeks.  The current 2017 Rough Riders’ PDL schedule is as follows:

Day Date Time Home Team Away Team
Sat 13-May 7:30 PM Rough Riders Westchester Flames
Sat 20-May 7:30 PM Rough Riders FC Boston
Wed 31-May 7:30 PM Westchester Flames Rough Riders
Sat 3-Jun 6:00 PM GPS Portland Phoenix Rough Riders
Sun 4-Jun 3:00 PM Seacoast United Phantoms Rough Riders
Sat 10-Jun 7:30 PM Rough Riders Seacoast United Phantoms
Wed 14-Jun 7:30 PM Westchester Flames Rough Riders
Sat 17-Jun 7:30 PM Rough Riders AC Connecticut
Sun 25-Jun 6:00 PM AC Connecticut Rough Riders
Fri 30-Jun 7:30 PM Rough Riders GPS Portland Phoenix
Fri 7-Jul 7:30 PM Western Mass Pioneers Rough Riders
Sat 8-Jul 6:00 PM FC Boston Rough Riders
Fri 14-Jul 7:30 PM Rough Riders AC Connecticut
Sun 16-Jul 4:00 PM Rough Riders Western Mass Pioneers

 

 

Tickets go on sale next week!