All-League Team Announced
Jul 2014

TAMPA, Fla. – The W-League announced its 2014 All-League Team today, featuring five players who will compete at this weekend’s W-League Championship presented by Nike at IMG Academy in Bradenton, Florida. The 2014 W-League All-League Team was selected through a vote of team management.

The LA Blues, who are the top seed this weekend, had two players chosen with midfielders Mele French and Sarah Killion both earning selection. French led the Blues with 24 points on eight goals and eight assists this season, while Killion chipped in a goal and six assists.

LA’s opponent in Friday’s W-League semifinal, the Charlotte Lady Eagles, is represented by defender Amanda Naeher, who anchored a stout defense while also contributing four goals in 10 games. Ottawa Fury FC, which will enter the weekend as the No. 2 seed, is represented by defender Shelina Zadorsky, who led a defense that surrendered a league-best three goals in 2014. Ottawa’s opponent Friday, the Washington Spirit Reserves, had defender Sam Lofton selected to the team after she helped limit opponents to five goals while scoring three of her own.

A pair of players are making their second consecutive appearance on the All-W-League Team – Laval Comets goalkeeper Genevieve Richard and Carolina Elite Cobras midfielder Blakely Mattern, who was selected as a defender in 2013.

The 2014 W-League Championship presented by Nike will see the Lady Eagles, Blues, Fury and Spirit Reserves vying for the title Friday and Sunday at IMG Academy in Bradenton, Florida. The winners from Friday’s semifinal will advance to the 2014 W-League Championship final at 2:30 p.m. ET Sunday.

Both of Friday’s semifinal matchups and Sunday’s championship and consolation match will be available live on the W-League YouTube channel:

2014 All-W-League Team

GK – Genevieve Richard, Laval Comets
D – Sue Alber-Weber, Long Island Rough Riders
D – Sam Lofton, Washington Spirit Reserves
D – Amanda Naeher, Charlotte Lady Eagles
D – Shelina Zadorsky, Ottawa Fury FC
MF – Mele French, LA Blues
MF – Sarah Killion, LA Blues
MF – Blakely Mattern, Carolina Elite Cobras
F – Danica Evans, Colorado Rush
F – Chloe Logarzo, Colorado Pride
F – Marisa Park, Braddock Road Stars Elite

*Article courtesy of the United Soccer Leagues