Women's History

Championship Years

1995 USL W-League

Established in 1994, the Long Island Women’s Rough Riders participated in the United Soccer League W-League. Under the ownership of Chuck Jacob, the team had a successful inaugural season, winning the very first W-League Championship in 1995. 

1997 USL W-League

Long Island went 9-1-0 in 1997, topping their division. During the championship playoff series, Wyant and the Rough Riders shut out defending champions Maryland Pride, and defeated California Storm, 3-2, after winning 1-0 in the penalty shootout. During the championship match against the Chicago Cobras, the Rough Riders took the lead in the 48th minute on a goal by Jen Bauman. The Cobras scored an equalizer a few minutes later and both teams battled through overtime where the game was decided in a penalty shootout. Wyant, who was later named tournament MVP, made key saves, allowing just one goal in the shootout. Debbie Johnson scored the first goal for the Rough Riders and Teresa Petruccelli secured the game winner, leading the team to their second W-League Championship.


Don’t miss out on exciting club news, ticket offers, program discounts and more!